top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Edwards

Superstition

Updated: Aug 16, 2020

Originally posted @ 3:41 pm, Mon 24th Aug 2009

I have to be a bit careful about celebrating the Ashes victory.

In 1922, my dad’s Auntie married and set off to Canada to emigrate, on a boat that stopped at Perth, Western Australia, on the way. The couple got off and decided to stay, raising a family of 10 children; hence I have a lot of distant Australian relatives.

So let me acknowledge that the Australians seemed to be generally better at batting and bowling.

But England won, in part cos a mild shower at lunchtime created the circumstances for Broad to destroy the Aussies in a 2 hour session on a Friday afternoon (which I managed to hear all of cos I’d misjudged the nature of traffic on a Friday afternoon).

Otherwise I’ve been wary of even checking on England’s progress. A flick to teletext or freeview 302 always seemed to coincide with a loss of an English wicket. Transpires I’m not alone about feeling vaguely suspicious about this – a market stall holder was telling me the same thing happened to him.

By not listening to England’s 10 over last wicket stand, people like us must have contributed in some way to Monty Panesar getting a draw when defeat seemed imminent.

So here’s to all the unsung heroes, who suspecting they might bring bad luck to England by checking on the progress of their batting, refused to, to help England win. Oh yes.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Not celebrating one nil victories

Presumed. written after Shrewsbury played Bradford on 9th April, 2012. I know true football fans are supposed to celebrate seeing one nil victories that affirm their club in the top three with five g

I have bought a bike

Presumed published on 10th April, 2012. I've bought a bike. Not my idea, but my partner has got interested and decided she'd like company. Of course, you never forget how to ride a bike. You just for

NGY myplace

Celebrating a city centre facility opened on April 10th, 2102. A brand new, top notch, youth club has opened today in Nottingham city centre. Called NGY myplace, it aims to appeal to youth across the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page