top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Edwards

Report to Mapperley branch Labour Party, April 1996

Published 3rd April, 1996. I first had a private e-mail address from March/April 1996. and I still have it - michael.edwards@poptel.org Poptel

I've joined the Poptel service.

This gives me -

an e-mail address;

access to "bulletin boards"; lists of Labour Party press releases and briefings.

I hope to offer an e-mail surgery service to constituents. I'd also like to build a directory of e-mail addresses in Nottingham East.

South East Staff's

This by-election's been called for April 11th.


Labour Party Central Region Conference

I attended on behalf of my trade union, which sought to express its dismay over Clare Short's statement on Railtrack with an emergency motion.

The Regional Office have produced an attractive booklet on their work - "The Central Challenge".


Unemployment

The latest figures are 687, 17.3%, 15th highest District ward in the County.

Cases - 23 in 1996

Mansfield Road

Plans to change parking regulations that will increase the flows of traffic along Mansfield Road have been delayed.

Ebers Grove

Negotiations over the purchase of the garage land have been difficult.

"Protect Our Community"

I thought the meeting went reasonably well for us. I've produced a one page summary should you want to know more.

Arnold PLAC

The Arnold Police are holding a public meeting ...

Elliott Durham

Governors discussed the contrast between the school's reputation and its achievements. More on this in time ...

Nursery Vouchers

The knock-on effects of such a scheme would be that Notts would lose £11.6 million; threatening 5,200 of the 10,543 places for 3-4 year olds.

Cuts

F.A.C.E. are holding a protest march on Saturday 21st / 28th April from County Hall.

Shortwood Farm

This application for an open cast mine was refused.

Waste Notts

Sold to Yorkshire Water for £25 million.

Mad Cow Disease

You'll notice I called for the Food Industry to act in my branch report last January. And did they listen to me?.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page